In December 2008 the Food Standards Agency agreed a National Food Hygiene Rating Scheme. It is now running in all areas of Wales, Northern Ireland and in 99% of England.

In practice the rating scheme is designed to ensure that businesses that are broadly compliant with food law and are managing food safety risks will receive a rating of three … and those who are managing the risk well will receive a rating of four or five. However, significant lapses in any of the scoring criteria can also have a significant effect on the rating.

This course is intended to give you an overview of how the National Food Hygiene Rating Scheme works, what the scoring criteria are and how these are assessed by the inspectors, the appeals process, the Safer Food Better Business management system, E-Coli and concludes with some
practical advice for ensuring your premises gets the best score possible.


  • 1 Food Hygiene Ratings – An Introduction 70% Pass Required
  • 2 Scoring Criteria 70% Pass Required
  • 3 Appeals 70% Pass Required
  • 4 Safer Food Better Business (SFBB) 70% Pass Required
  • 5 E.Coli 70% Pass Required
  • 6 Good Hygiene Structure and Cleaning 70% Pass Required

Recommended System Requirements

  • Browser: Up to date web browser
  • Video: Up to date video drivers
  • Memory: 1Gb+ RAM
  • Download Speed: Broadband (3Mb+)

Duration: 50 minutes (Note: This is based on the amount of video content shown and is rounded off. It does not account in any way for loading time or thinking time on the questions).

Online Course £20

Achieving Food Hygiene Rating Level 5

Scroll to Top